Press Quotes

“… awesome…” - Nathan Turk, Signal To Noise

“… Grillot… impressive…” - Jay Collins, Cadence Magazine

“François Grillot… cooks to the boiling point” - Florence Wetzel, All About Jazz

“…Grillot's bass… shines through” - David Dupont, One Final Note

“… a dark tone and rare aggression.” - John Chacona, One Final Note

“… rock solid bass lines” - Chris Forbes, Cosmic Debris

“Grillot reinforces …time…” - Rex Butters, All About Jazz

The Magic Door

The Magic Door - Not Two Records

Musicians on record:

  • Michael Marcus - clarinet
  • Daniel Levin - cello
  • Rashaan Carter - bass
  • François Grillot - bass
  • Eric Rrevis - bass
  • Jay Rosen - drums
  • Newman Taylor Baker - drums

Recording track list:

  1. The Magic Door
  2. Hey Pee Wee (for Pee Wee Russell)
  3. Blue Reality
  4. Sonic Corridors
  5. Abstractions in Lime Caverns
  6. One More Minute
  7. Morning Daffodil
  8. Circular Worlds, Sitting Lights
  9. Sunset Falling In The Mirrors

The Magic Door - release info:

Not Two Records

Rec. in NYC. Producer : Michael Marcus

Selected Discography